PHOTO 2020 x Perimeter International Photobook Prize

PHOTO 2020 and Perimeter Books are pleased to announce the shortlisted artists and photobook proposals for the inaugural International Photobook Prize.

The PHOTO 2020 x Perimeter International Photobook Prize celebrates and advances the role of photobooks as an art form by identifying, publishing and distributing a new photographic project.

The inaugural Prize attracted submissions from over 125 photographers across Australia and all over the world. The 18 shortlisted projects present some of the most innovative and exciting photographers addressing a range of issues and concepts of global interest.

The judging panel for the Prize included leaders in the fields of contemporary photography and publishing: Justine Ellis, Co-Director, Perimeter; Michael Mack, Publisher, MACK; Emma Phillips, Artist; Elias Redstone, Artistic Director, PHOTO 2020; and Dan Rule, Co-Director, Perimeter.

'The shortlisted photobook projects are all of an exceptionally high standard and provided an interesting reflection of the trends in contemporary international photography,' says Elias Redstone. 'It is thrilling to see the multitude of new ideas and creative thinking in contemporary photobooks.'

Justine Ellis says, 'The shortlist features an impressive standard of work from photographers spanning diverse points on the map.'

'The shortlist is conceptually and aesthetically divergent, offering some fascinating possibilities and potentials for the photobook medium,' adds Dan Rule.

Shortlisted Artists:
Andrea Alessandrini (ITL) – Piccola Russia
Ying Ang (SGP) – Bower Bird Blues
Marjolein Blom (NLD) – A Monkey Peeled an Onion
Carlos Chavarria (ESP) – Façade
Sam Forsyth-Gray (AUS) – New Archivalia
Kate Golding (AUS) – Near This Spot
Erin Holland (NZL) – Este Lado / This Side
J Houston (USA) – Tuck and Roll
Xi Li (CHN) – Traces of (Invisibilities)
Honey Long and Prue Stent (AUS) – Touching Pool
Anna Pylypyuk and Volodymyr Shypotilnykov (UKR) – My First Telik
Christopher Rodriguez (USA) – Afterlife
David Rothenberg (USA) – Roosevelt Station
Alessandra Sposetti (ITL) – Gilda
Hiro Tanaka (JPN) – Bolzo
Javier Torok (ARG) – Common Fate
Abigail Varney (AUS) – Rough & Cut
Li Zhang and Yusho Nishiok (CAN) – Little America

The winner of the Prize will have their work published, promoted and distributed by Perimeter Editions and its associated distribution partners Perimeter Distribution and Idea Books. The winner will also participate in programs during PHOTO 2020, as well as additional launches and promotions of their book.